Louisiana StartupBus Team Makes Finals

March 15, 2012

For more information, contact Lauren Songy Hatcher
at 225-381-7132 or
Louisiana StartupBus Team Makes Finals
Group returns home from successful trip
Baton Rouge, La. (March 15, 2012)– The Louisiana StartupBus has completed its successful inaugural journey with one of its teams, Scoringo, being one of just eight teams to make the finals from the roughly sixty teams vying for a spot.  Scoringo, which consisted of bus-riding entrepreneurs Stuart Adams, Natalie Noel, Jarvis Brown, Jeff Pellegrin, Andrew Bursavich, and Tommy Talley, proposed a skill-based, interactive gaming platform that will initially be focused on sporting events.  The platform will allow users to compete directly against the game and their friends.  The StartupBus is a multicity road trip, where participants try to develop a business prior to their arrival in Austin, Texas in time for the South By Southwest (SxSW) technology conference.  Selected finalists present their business idea to a set of judges with the winner receiving venture capital funding.
"Representing Louisiana's talent in the StartupBus finals at SxSW was an honor.  Our team worked tirelessly to get there and was even aided by other teams once we made it to the finals,” said Scoringo team leader Stuart Adams.  “We've already drawn interest from ESPN and have further meetings lined up.  We intend to fully pursue the idea as a team and are sure to use some of the knowledge and connections we attained during the StartupBus competition."
StartupBus Louisiana was made possible through the generosity of several organizations including Louisiana State University and The Cook Hotel, the Louisiana Technology Park, the Baton Rouge Area Chamber, Lamar Advertising, Raising Cane's, Opportunity Machine, Hotel Indigo, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, Greater New Orleans, Inc., Idea Village, Kean Miller, the Varsity Theater, Cohabitat, Launch Pad, and StackMob.  The Louisiana StartupBus was also sponsored and organized by the Regional Innovation Organization (RIO).
The buspreneurs on board were: Alyson Kilday, Andrew Bursavich, Ben Jacobson, Benjamin Reece, Bryan Arturo, Curtis Heroman, Corey Smith, Crawford Comeaux, Collin Wallace, Evan Smith, Glenn Penton, Jarvis Brown, Joe Ellis, Jeff Pellegrin, Jonathan Ferrante, Logan Leger, Lou Kosak, Markus Steck, Maxwell Gaudin, Misha Leybovich,  Natalie Gillis, Natalie Noel, Nick Jones, Priya Jhingan, Rip Rittell, Stuart Adams, and Tommy Talley.

Back to Articles